Website technical difficulties
See all stories
2 Oct 2017

What does the Trust’s President do?

The three jagged peaks of the Three Sisters range in Glencoe are seen against a bright blue sky.
Find out more about what the President does and how they are chosen.

What does the Trust’s President do?

The President is an ambassador for our charity. They help to tell people about the important work we do to protect the special places in our care, and share and celebrate Scotland’s amazing history and spectacular scenery. The President supports our fundraising and engagement activities and generally spreads the word about all we do. The President is not a member of the Board nor a Trustee and does not attend Board meetings.

Who decides on the direction of the Trust?

Responsibility for the Trust’s strategic direction lies with the Board of Trustees. The delivery of that strategy is managed by the Executive Committee, headed by Chief Executive Philip Long.

How is the Trust’s President chosen?

The appointment of President is managed by the Nominations Committee, a committee of its Board of Trustees. They identify a range of candidates who, they feel, embody the values and qualities needed for the Trust at this time and make a recommendation to the Board. If the Board agree, the proposal is voted upon at the Annual General Meeting.

Who else has been President?

Since 1931, the following people have been President of the National Trust for Scotland:

  • 8th Duke of Atholl, 1931–42
  • Sir John Stirling Maxwell, 1944–56
  • There was no President between 1956 and 1967, although there were elected Vice-Presidents, including Admiral Sir Angus Cunninghame Graham, KBE, CB; E Ivory; and J F A Gibson.
  • 12th Earl of Wemyss and March, 1967–91
  • 6th Marquess of Bute, 1991–93
  • 10th Duke of Atholl, 1994–95
  • 13th Earl of Airlie, 1997–2002
  • Earl of Dalkeith (later Duke of Buccleuch and Queensberry), 2002–12
  • Jamie, Earl of Lindsay, 2012–17
  • Neil Oliver, 2017–2020
  • Jackie Bird, 2022–present

Become a member

By becoming a National Trust for Scotland member you’re helping to preserve Scotland’s countryside and landscapes for future generations.

Join now