Picturesque town, full of restored houses, on the banks of the River Tay
Dunkeld from the banks of the Tay, with Telford's bridge in the background
  • Wander along Cathedral Street and The Cross, where the Trust has restored many of the 17th- and 18th-century houses.

  • Gaze up at the Atholl Memorial Fountain and see how many of the wildlife carvings you can identify.

  • Look out for salmon a-leaping in the River Tay!

See the latest from Dunkeld

Today's Opening Hours

All year, daily
See full opening times

Entry prices

One adult family
See all entry prices


At all Trust places, admission is free for members.

Join from £5.20 / month

About this place

Beautifully situated on the banks of the River Tay, Dunkeld is a picturesque and tranquil place. From an early centre of Celtic Christianity to becoming a hub for modern folk music, this town has a rich cultural heritage.

The Atholl Memorial Fountain (which replaced the old mercat cross) has been carefully preserved and around 20 of the surrounding pastel-coloured houses (private residences) have been restored by the Trust, some of which date back to the 17th century.

However, this little town was not always this peaceful. Shortly after the Battle of Killiecrankie, a fierce battle raged in the streets on 21 August 1689 between the Jacobites and government soldiers. Many of the buildings were burned or destroyed, and much of the Dunkeld we see today was rebuilt in the 18th century.

Today, visitors can enjoy a wander around or picnic in Stanley Hill Park. Climb the steps to the top of the tiered man-made hill, which was built up from the natural existing hillock around 1730 to look like a fortification from an earlier age. At one time, it had a battery of small cannons on it for firing salutes. You can also look into the depths of the ice house located on the hill’s lower slopes. The Trust removed 4.5m of infill from it in 1995, but still did not reach the bottom.

Our accreditations and awards

  • Green Tourism Gold Award