Acres of gentle Moray countryside surround the rose-coloured Brodie Castle, ancestral home of the Brodie clan for over 400 years, although their family seat has been here since the 12th century.

The exact construction date of the present building is not known, although the caphouse on the south-west tower bears the date 1567, which probably records the completion of that part that had begun in 1560. Alexander Brodie of Brodie was the 12th Laird at the time.

You can see how changing times altered the castle’s shape and purpose. The impenetrable 16th-century guard chamber is flanked on one side by a cosy 17th-century wing and on the other by a sprawling Victorian extension.

Today, the castle is set up much as it was in the early and mid-20th century, when it was home to Ninian Brodie, 25th Laird. On display is a magnificent collection of furniture, ceramics and artwork, including works by 17th-century Dutch masters and 20th-century Scottish Colourists. The dining room and blue sitting room reveal incredibly ornate 17th-century plasterwork, whilst the original 16th-century high hall has become the grand red drawing room with its imposing Gothic fireplace.

The castle also boasts an impressive library containing over 6,000 volumes. This was a favourite spot of Ian Brodie, the 24th Laird and famous daffodil breeder. A visiting guest remembered ‘Brodie in his happiest mood sat or squatted with his heels tucked up on his chair ... as he laughed and chuckled over endless recollections and reminiscences’. A portrait of Major Ian hangs over the fireplace to this day.