Back to Balmacara Estate

The Steadings Gallery

The Steadings Gallery is a bright and contemporary art gallery in Balmacara Square, housed in one of the renovated farm buildings. Throughout the year both local and national artists exhibit a wide range of arts and crafts, from nature-inspired jewellery and Scottish Highlands landscape photography to sculpture and wildlife paintings. The gallery has free car parking, toilets and Wi-Fi, and provides a welcome indoor attraction if the weather is a bit wet and wild. If the sun is out, a trip to the gallery can be combined with one of the many walks from the square.

2022 is shaping up to be a busy year in the gallery – our first exhibition starts on Tuesday 12 April.


Provisional 2022 exhibition schedule

May
Fri 20–Thurs 26 May: Natural Findings, Robyn Sands
Fri 27 May–Fri 3 June: Reprise, Iain Turnbull Photography

June
Sat 4–Fri 10 June: Emma Siedle-Collins
Sat 11–Thurs 23 June: Natural World, sculpture by Ann Coomber
Fri 24–Thurs 30 June: Bridge Art Collective

July
Fri 1–Fri 8 July: Laura Slaughter (TBC)
Sat 9–Sun 24 July: Gill and Ian Williams (TBC)
Mon 25–Sun 31 July: Meg Miller

August
Mon 1–Thurs 11 August: Peter Jones
Fri 12–Fri 19 August: A Winter on Skye, photography and mixed media art by Don Mason and Gail McGregor
Sun 21–Sat 27 August: Sally MacDonald

September
Fri 2–Thurs 8 September: Irene Blair
Fri 9–Fri 16 September: Dirk Parker
Sat 17 September–Sat 1 October: Annalee Davis (National Trust for Scotland)

October
Mon 3–Sun 16 October: Autumnal Reflections, Marianne Worthy, Saffron and Ana Phoenix

Please note this schedule is subject to change.

Please check the Balmacara Estate Facebook Events page for updates.


Are you an artist looking for a convenient exhibition space close to the tourist destinations of Skye and the NC500? This space could provide you with the perfect place to host your next event! There’s a full hanging system provided and a small kitchen for the artist’s use. We can also help promote your event through our digital channels and local outlets.

Bookings are generally on a weekly basis but can be flexible and pricing is very reasonable. Contact the estate office via balmacara@nts.org.uk if you’re interested in finding out more.