Open

Most of our places are now open. Find a place to visit near you.

Back to Balmacara Estate

The Steadings Gallery

The Steadings Gallery is a bright and contemporary art gallery in Balmacara Square, housed in one of the renovated farm buildings. Throughout the year both local and national artists exhibit a wide range of arts and crafts, from nature-inspired jewellery and Scottish Highlands landscape photography to sculpture and wildlife paintings. The gallery has free car parking, toilets and Wi-Fi, and provides a welcome indoor attraction if the weather is a bit wet and wild. If the sun is out, a trip to the gallery can be combined with one of the many walks from the square.

2021 is shaping up to be a busy year in the gallery – our first exhibition starts on Thursday 29 April.


Provisional 2021 exhibition schedule

Thurs 29 April–Thurs 13 May: Taking Time Out, Becky Smith
Fri 21 May–Sun 6 June: Marianne Worthy, Saffron Dilly and Ana Phoenix
Wed 9 June–Mon 21 June: Ann Coomber, sculpture
Tues 22 June–Fri 2 July: Bridge Art Collective
Sat 3 July–Sat 17 July: Claire Rooney
Sun 18 July–Sat 24 July: Meg Miller, paintings and sculpture

Sun 25 July–Fri 30 July: Emma Siedle-Collins, mixed media and textiles
Sat 31 July–Sat 7 August: Iain Turnbull Photography
Sun 8 August–Fri 20 August: Raasay Artists on tour
Sat 21 August–Fri 27 August: Andrea Brown
Sat 28 August–Thurs 9 September: Shore & Land Art, Gail MacGregor
Fri 10 September–Sat 18 September: Irene Blair
Sun 19 September–Fri 1 October: Marianne Worthy, Saffron Dilly and Ana Phoenix
Sat 2 October–Fri 8 October: Gill Houlsby and Andy Spink
Sat 9 October–Sat 16 October: Caitlin Turnbull
Sun 17 October–Sat 23 October: Sally McDonald
Fri 3 December–Thurs 9 December: John Sikorski

Please note this schedule is subject to change.


Are you an artist looking for a convenient exhibition space close to the tourist destinations of Skye and the NC500? This space could provide you with the perfect place to host your next event! There’s a full hanging system provided and a small kitchen for the artist’s use. We can also help promote your event through our digital channels and local outlets.

Bookings are generally on a weekly basis but can be flexible and pricing is very reasonable. Contact the estate office via balmacara@nts.org.uk if you’re interested in finding out more.