Search results

page <  4 5 6 7 8 9 10  > show all

Halliman Skerry, Covesea Lighthouse

£295.00 | 18th December 2017 - 22nd December 2017
  • Dates available
  • 3 StarVery Good
  • Inverness, Nairn, Moray & The Black Isle
  • 6
  • 3
  • Dogs allowed
The Lighthouse accommodation at Covesea is under the ownership of Covesea Lighthouse Community Company Ltd. Halliman Skerry is a single-storey property in the Covesea Skerries lighthouse complex and is situated in the courtyard below the lighthouse tower. As the entire complex is fully enclosed, this accommodation is great for families with young children who wish to spend a special holiday by the sea. Read More >
 
The lighthouse complex is situated on the mainland, just opposite the Halliman Skerries which are a reef of rocks that are covered at high tide. Visitors can also enjoy two superb beaches nearby. One, West Bay, stretches for three miles to the west, beyond the headland housing Covesea Lighthouse.
 
Accommodation details:
 
Sleeps 4/6. Accommodation comprises: sitting room; kitchen with dining room off; 2 twin bedrooms and 1 bedroom with bunk beds (can sleep adults); and bathroom with bath and shower cubicle. Services: electric central heating. EPC Rating: G14
 
Additional information:
 
Parking is available beside the accommodation.
 
If you are interested in a larger group/ family booking, additional accommodation is available at Covesea Skerry. The neighbouring cottage accommodates 4 guests.
 
About the property:
 
The Covesea Skerries form a group of small islands and rocks that lie off the Moray coast, 3 miles west of Lossiemouth and 1 mile west of Covesea.
 
Following the loss of 16 ships during a storm in the Moray Firth in November 1826, many applications were made for lighthouses to be established at Tarbat Ness (near Portmahomack on the Dornoch Firth) and Covesea Skerries to mark the wide entrance to the Firth and its confusing series of inlets.
 
Following a lengthy process, approval was finally received for the building of the lighthouse on Craighead and a beacon on the dangerous Halliman's Scars. Robert Stevenson's son, Alan, designed the new Covesea Skerries lighthouse and beacon. The iron beacon was completed in 1845 and the new lighthouse followed in 1846. Egyptian influences can be seen in the entrance to the tower, the chimneys of the cottages and the arches at the top of the lighthouse tower beneath the balcony.
 
Covesea Lighthouse was manned until 1984 when automation meant that the keepers were no longer required and the switching on and off of the lamp could be done remotely from the Northern Lighthouse Board headquarters in Edinburgh. With the advent of new technology, the addition of a North Cardinal Buoy next to the Halliman Skerries allowed the lamp to be switched off in 2012.
 
Covesea Lighthouse is open for pre-booked guided tours. For opening times and and bookings please contact info@covesealighthouse.co.uk or telephone 01343 810 664. Whilst groups will be welcome, access to the tower is limited to 8 people at a time.
 
About the area:
 
The coastal town of Lossiemouth is just over a mile away and can be reached by walking along the lovely beach. It offers the visitor a range of facilities including sea angling, stunning unspoilt beaches and wildlife , an excellent range of shopping and quality restaurants and cafes, all making the most of the plentiful supply of fresh seafood. The Silver Sands Holiday Park is just 5 minutes' walk from the lighthouse and here you will find a shop, cafe, bar and a play area for children. Lossiemouth also offers visitors a range of golfing opportunities with its two 18-hole golf courses. < Hide

Faldarroch Farm, Port William

£250.00 | 18th December 2017 - 22nd December 2017
  • Dates available
  • 4 StarExcellent
  • Dumfries & Galloway
  • 5
  • 2
  • Not allowed
This small Victorian dairy farm dates back to a time when agriculture was undergoing nationwide changes in order to feed a growing population. A beautifully preserved farm cottage forms the centrepiece among outbuildings, a byre, steading and calf shed. Faldarroch is also now part of the Walkers and Cyclists Welcome Schemes and has a drying room for wet clothes and storage for bikes/outdoor boots and clothing. Read More >
The open-plan farm kitchen is warmed by an original working range, a Victorian iron four-poster bed lies at the centre of the master bedroom, and outdoors, as the land rolls down to the sea, wildlife such as red squirrels abound.
 
In the paddock, beyond the walled garden, there is newly excavated wildlife pond, with a burn tumbling in and out, which you can cross using the two wooden bridges. Planting of this area is a long term project, but water-loving plants and trees are gradually being introduced to populate the banks and brown trout will make an appearance as the vegetation grows up. Local birds, including herons, wagtails and swallows are already making use of the pond. Sit on one of the handy boulders on the banks in summer and watch the dragonflies!
 
Accommodation details

  • Sleeps 4/5 - 1 double, 1 twin (family room) with box beds, 1 single

  • Open-plan farm kitchen with sitting area, range and wood-burning stove

  • Eco-friendly insulation and heating

  • Wood-pellet boiler

  • Solar electricity

  • Bathroom with roll-top bath and shower over

  • Family room

  • Stove in master bedroom

  • Barn for storing bicycles and outdoor clothing

  • Paddock


About the area
Two miles away the fishing village of Port William wraps round the coast of Luce Bay, looking across to the Mull of Galloway. It's thought that a Christian settlement was founded in the area not long after St Ninian came to Scotland, however in the 17th and 18th centuries it became better known as a hotbed of smuggling. Safe beaches, glorious sunsets, and rare wildlife make this part of The Machars coast a blissful holiday haven.
 
Things to do

  • The Galloway Forest Park is home to the UK's first Dark-Sky Park, a hotspot for stargazing, due to its pitch black unpolluted skies.

  • Whithorn is less than half an hour's drive away. Join Robert the Bruce, King James IV, Mary Queen of Scots and a long line of Royal visitors who travelled to the now-ruined 12th century monastery that once housed the relics of St Ninian.

  • Stand at Scotland's southernmost tip at Mull of Galloway, looking across the sea to Ireland and the Isle of Man. After Easter 2013 you'll be able to climb the lighthouse tower, built by Robert Louis Stevenson's grandfather. Keep an eye out for seabirds; the area is part of an RSPB reserve.


< Hide

The Pavilion, Lamb's House

£1,480.00 | 18th December 2017 - 22nd December 2017
  • Dates available
  • 4 StarExcellent
  • Edinburgh & The Lothians
  • 6
  • 3
  • Not allowed
The Pavilion is a newly-built, self-contained 3-storey house, sitting within the curtilage of Lamb's House in Leith. It has been built in the style of the early 18th century with particular attention to detail, including an eye-catching "ogee" roof. Inside, furniture and fittings are of a quality and style to match. A fine south-facing Italianate garden can be enjoyed by the guests. Read More >

 
Lamb's House, built in 1610, is one of Edinburgh's most interesting buildings. A-listed, this 5-storey building is only a stones throw from the historic Port in the heart of Leith. Built as a tenement, it consisted of 6 booths on the ground floor with 6 small but very grand fats on the upper floors. These were rented to the Edinburgh merchants who controlled all trade in the port at the time..
 

Leith, on the shore of the Firth of Forth in North Edinburgh, has served as the city's port since the 12th Century. It was the centre of manufacturing and commercial activity with mills, sugar refineries, engineering works, breweries and distilleries, ship building, lead and glass works and many more. All of these were dependant on the river and the harbour. Today it is a vibrant part of the city where some of the best restaurants have replaced the traditional industries. The much acclaimed Michelin starred restaurant, Martin Wishart is 70 metres from the Pavilion's front door.
Short breaks (minimum of 2 nights) available. Please contact the Holidays Department by telephone (0131 458 0305) or by email (holidays@nts.org.uk) for further details.
 
Accommodation details

  • 3 storey

  • Sleeps 6 - 1 twin with en suite shower and 2 double bedrooms (one with a half tester, the other with a box bed)

  • Sitting room with dining area

  • Kitchen

  • Bathroom with cast-iron bath

  • Utility room

  • Underfloor heating controlled by individual thermostats

  • Parking for one car in private courtyard

  • Access to Renaissance garden

 
 
Things to do

  • The Georgian House (NTS), on Edinburgh's Charlotte Square, is a restored Robert Adam-designed town house that was home to John Lamont, 18th Chief of the Clan Lamont, and his family until 1815. It gives a fascinating insight into life both upstairs and downstairs.

  • The Royal Yacht Britannia was a home to Queen for over 40 years, sailing over a million miles around the world. It is now berthed at Ocean Terminal in Leith, just a short walk from Lamb's House.

  • The Water of Leith flows from the Pentland Hills (south of Edinburgh) through the city and out into the Forth at Leith. A walkway runs beside it from Balerno to Leith (12 miles).

 
Getting there
Leith is in the north of Edinburgh, 3 miles from the city centre. It is very well serviced by bus routes. < Hide
page <  4 5 6 7 8 9 10  > show all