Support Scotland's heritage by giving now to the National Trust for Scotland


Become a member

Enjoy hundreds of great days out
from only £2.00 per month.
Join online today, visit today
with instant membership

NTS Garden Acquisition Timeline

The National Trust for Scotland has been acquiring heritage gardens in Scotland for many years. 2005 was the 60th anniversary of the Trust`s first garden acquisition when it accepted the great estates of Culzean Castle and Leith Hall in 1945. The Timeline below shows the chronology of the acquisition of NTS garden properties, though in some cases the dates given precede those of legal acquisition (when title deeds/bequests legally completed) by a couple of years. Click on a Property to see further details.


Green text text = major gardens & designed landscapes owned by NTS
Red text = smaller gardens owned by NTS
Blue text = other garden & landscape sites owned & managed by NTS
Sites in Italics = owned but not managed by NTS
Sites in {Brackets} = managed but not owned by NTS
*No link

1932 Culross Palace, Fife
1932 Soutar Johnnie's, Ayrshire
1936 Balmerino Abbey, Fife
1937 J.M. Barrie's Birthplace, Angus
1938 Hugh Miller's Cottage, Cromarty
1944 House of the Binns, West Lothian
1944 The Hermitage, Perthshire
1945 Culzean Castle, Ayrshire
1945 Leith Hall, Aberdeenshire
1948 Threave Estate, Kirkcudbrightshire
1949 Hill of Tarvit, Fife
1951 Crathes Castle, Aberdeenshire
1952 Pitmedden Garden, Aberdeenshire
1952 Falkland Palace, Fife
1953 Inverewe Garden, Ross-shire
1954 Lochalsh Woodland Walks,
(part of Balmacara Estate, Ross-shire)

1957 Brodick Castle, Ayrshire
1959 Inveresk Lodge, East Lothian
1963 Craigievar Castle, Aberdeenshire
1968 Malleny House, Midlothian
1968 Branklyn Garden, Perthshire
1970 Kellie Castle, Fife
1974 Priorwood Garden, Borders
1974 The Pineapple, Stirlingshire
1976 Drum Castle, Aberdeenshire
1976 Greenbank Garden, Glasgow
1976 Castle Fraser, Aberdeenshire
1978 Haddo House, Aberdeenshire
1980 House of Dun, Angus
1980 Brodie Castle, Morayshire
1981 Canna House, Inner Isles

1982 Hill House, Dunbartonshire
1984 Fyvie Castle, Aberdeenshire
1989 Geilston House, Dunbartonshire
1992 Arduaine Garden, Argyll

1993 Castle Fraser Designed Landscape, Aberdeenshire
1994 Holmwood House, Glasgow
1995 Mar Lodge Estate, Aberdeenshire
1996 {Alloa Tower}, Clackmannanshire

1999 {David Livingstone Centre}, Lanarkshire
2002 Crarae Garden, Argyll