MENU

HISTORY

Kingarrock's golf heritage stretches back to 1906 when wealthy jute magnate Frederick Sharp first brought his family across the River Tay to the National Trust for Scotland's Hill of Tarvit Mansion House, attracted by the house's proximity to St Andrews' Royal & Ancient Golf Club.

Not content with such easy access, Frederick and his son Hugh soon set about designing a 9 hole golf course on the house's front lawn, which proved a popular fixture with golfers for many years.

Frederick Sharp died in 1932 and tragically his son Hugh lost his life in the Castlecarry rail disaster just a few years later in 1937, while the advent of World War Two meant the course was soon commandeered for farming use to aid the war effort.

The site's great golfing heritage was finally revived in the 1990s when NTS staff discovered a 1924 map of the old course, along with Frederick Sharpe's golfing bag and a number of classic golf paintings around the house.

Enthused by this discovery, David Anderson and family decided to bring hickory golf back to Hill of Tarvit, restoring the old course to its former glory and making numerous improvements to make it fully suitable for modern players, finally re-opening the course after a 70 year hiatus in June 2008.

The Trust took over the ownership of the course in October 2014.

Click here to find out more about the National Trust for Scotland and how to support us.

Our Golf Experience Manager

Always a warm welcome.